Sky

For those grieving, here a poem about believing that we remain united in spirit and love.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“Sky”
 
the sky isn’t as simple as
     white against blue. Unstoppable wind
          churns simplicity into chaos.  
Staring into the rippling,
         building clouds, now gray-on-white, I
             realize I won’t see your face again. Invisible
             motion has claimed you.
 
In my deepest bones I know that
     clouds touch down in a fog on my world
                        and I will someday step out into it
                             to join their quiet blur.
your love will greet me there with
        all its caring, generous, laughing, and
            joyous spirit.
that spirit is what I miss the most, but here
     is the touch of blue on white and charcoal, 
     mixing into a gray palette. A soft touch.
There: the universe has painted us with one breath.
        On my aching days, I hear it blowing by.

 
 
Creative Commons License
Sky by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    May 29, 2016 @ 09:44:21

    That was very moving. I really like the line about the mixing colors being where the two worlds touch. Excellent work.

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 19:30:51

    This one really hits home…I hear it in the wind blowing by…just love that line.

    Reply

  3. brianabatty
    Jun 04, 2016 @ 11:37:37

    Thanks! Most of this was composed in Madera Canyon in Arizona, on a hike up the mountain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

