Rabbi

This poem was inspired by the story of Zacchaeus, the short tax collector who climbed a tree to see Jesus in Luke 19:1-10. Sometimes we think we can see Jesus best from high above in the trees, when truly he is best seen in action among the people down below.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“Rabbi”
 
Rabbi, Rabbi,
     I listen to you from treetops,
          imagining myself a little closer
        to sky-soaring righteousness,
but my vantage point has made me
       the fool.
the classroom in the branches
        taught me desperation, how to cling to
twigs.
hundreds of hours of study and
       not a jot learned until
         You called me down to open
                   my home.
Rabbi, Rabbi,
      Your teaching is in the meal.

 
 
Creative Commons License
Rabbi by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    May 16, 2016 @ 07:25:57

    Wow. I really love how you used this story. I’d never thought about it this way before. This is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

