Wings Will Come: Journey – Part 7 “False Bottom”

Too often we face challenges, realize we don’t have what it takes, and then cave. When my parents began the transition of moving to Arizona, leaving my brother and I behind, I learned that weakness is a window to God. We must learn to look past the glass and out in the vast world of His love beyond to find what we need to press on.
 
Next week, I continue the story of my family’s move and God’s goodness in the change in the eighth poem of my collection, “Wings Will Come: Journey.”
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“False Bottom”
The weight of change
 
years, jobs, and classes
tugged us thin in places.
on the taut cloth falls
a stone.
crying in the car on the
way into work, I have to 
wonder if we have enough
in us for this.
 
       in the whirling spring and 
       summer months of that year
       you surprise me, God,
       with a lesson about us
       that I didn’t know I needed 
       to learn:
 
our strength was a 
false bottom.
You are the well
beneath us.
 
         It is now 
         that we learn
         to draw from it.

 
 
Creative Commons License
False Bottom by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 06:27:05

    Excellent poem. I love the sailing imagery. Very apt for the situation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

