I sail

Happy New Year!

I am back with a new poem after my long break. This poem is about looking forward into the New Year and trusting to God for direction on the way.

Next week, I am going to begin posting a series of poems from a special collection I wrote last fall. It’s a personal story of God’s support, love, and goodness through times of upheaval.

God bless,
Morgan

“I sail”

I go to sleep on a dim shore,
drooping eyes trailing after the tide of
the old year as it slips out.

I wake on a raft on endless
water and my heart freezes as quietly
as rain into snowfall. I stare at storms and sunshine
mingled on a ring of horizons.

I have no compass but what I see
by night – let me learn dark vision:
night prayer to draw out the wisdom
for the journey of the day.

I go by Your way: You are
the spirit curled up on the raft,
whispering through storms and
standing to shield me when I
buckle beneath unknowns.

old shores are far gone,
home is an unseen harbor.
I cannot float here.
come, new year:
I sail.

Creative Commons License
I sail by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Jan 02, 2016 @ 12:07:34

    Excellent poem! I love the image of being a castaway on a raft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

