Change

I think I’m in good company when I say that my life has unexpectedly become a time of tumultuous changes. This poem draws on two of my favorite Bible stories, the changing of water to wine (John 2:1-11) and the feeding of the five thousand (John 6:1-15*), for inspiration for courage to face the changes before me. These stories tell me that with God’s power, we can overcome our challenges, transitions, and uncertainty.

God bless,
Morgan

*There are multiple accounts in the Gospels of the feeding of the five thousand; I chose the one from the Gospel of John.

“Change”

At some point we all face
plain water 
      filling up jars at wedding beginnings.
Cool, simple, and familiar, it beckons
     us to leave well enough alone
     for now.
Too often we freeze in place where you
    moved into miracles, splashed into
rich red tomorrows. 

I am the boy with the five loaves
      and two fish who you met on your
journeys in the desert. 
I hold out my meager collection of
    courage and hope and ask that you
multiply these pieces
        until I have enough 
to feed a multitude. 

 
 
Creative Commons License
Change by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 08:55:30

    I really like this one! I love the last stanza in particular. The metaphor of the loaves and fish as one’s courage is excellent. Great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

