Up on the Shelf

Hi everyone,

A message of courage for anyone who needs it right now. Philippians 4:13: I can do all things in Christ who gives me strength.

God bless,
Morgan

“Up on the Shelf”
 
my courage sits quiet
   up on a shelf out of
                                           reach.
it crouches inside a
    glass jar like a miniature red tiger
    on display, baring teeth
 it can’t use.
 
my arms aren’t long enough
      to reach that courage.
my hands shake too much
      to open the lid.
I sit on the floor and stare
     up at the restless
                                tiger.
 
now more than ever 
    I need the dusty bravery
put away with too many 
old forgotten treasures,
                     so I turn to You.
 
You lift me up so I can reach
         that gleaming prize You gave me
       years and years ago,
                  that I lost on the top shelf.
I pick up the jar, cradle it.
You put Your big hands over mine:
            Let’s open it.
 
With Your strength
I lay new claim
       to the fire 
You lit inside my soul. 

Creative Commons License
Up on the Shelf by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 08:14:12

    Brilliant! I love the idea of courage being a tiger.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

