Travel by Night

Hi everyone,
 
Good times or bad, it seems like an obstacle always suddenly appears to stop us in our tracks and go a different, unexpected way. Whatever detours we face, we can choose to handle them with faith and trust in God. In Second Corinthians chapter 12, Paul faces an obstacle inside himself, the “thorn” in his flesh. Though God won’t take it from him, He tells Paul in verse 9, “My grace is sufficient for you.” I don’t believe God puts problems in our way. Instead, from this Scripture I read that when troubles attack, He gives us the tools, the grace, to get through what we face step by step. When we rely on that grace, it transforms us: Paul writes, “for whenever I am weak, then I am strong” (verse 10).
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“Travel by Night”
 
been traveling by night.
    exhaustion’s got me in a vise,
    squeezing yawns out of me.
would be home by now, 
    but I missed my exit and kept on
    going.
 
been looking for another way,
   but the last chance I got
   is two hundred yards ahead 
   tied up in red and blue warnings lights.
Orange cones like
      impassible mountains
      force me off into unknown
      territory in the dark.
 
been winding on this detour and
     sinking deeper into teeth-grinding
     confusion.
why the red, blue, and orange
    when I needed a clear exit?
but there’s no roadmap to that
   answer.
 
been exploring for hours now,
    finding an odd, shaky kind of calm
    in just moving forward.
my car’s bright eyes show me
   some more of the road:
there is a turn 
   up ahead.

 
 

Creative Commons License
Travel by Night by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 07:25:25

    Wow. I really love this one. The metaphor is really interesting and I like the imagery of driving at night. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

