My Name Means Strong

Hi everyone,
 
I wrote this poem to reflect on how God has given me strength in my faith through His Holy Spirit, and how that strength remains with me even when I or my circumstances change. My middle name, Briana, means “strong,” and so I explored how this name and its meaning are part of me in my life and faith journey. God offers strength to all of us, whatever our names, so we can stand firm through all our hard times.
 
(The mustard seed reference comes from Matthew 13:31-31. The well reference is from John 4:4-26)
God bless,
Morgan
 

“My Name Means Strong”
Dedicated to my parents, who named me and taught me real strength
 
my name means strong.
 
  I face an uncertain answer and
   a road scuffed with question marks.
   I do not turn away.
my name means strong.
 
    it was given to me before I understood it,
   when my legs didn’t walk yet and
       my eyes were weak and new.
    it will be mine when I fall more than I stand
        and blindness dims my sight.
my name means strong.
 
     it was set like a precious stone 
        in the middle of three names,
    placed firmly at the core.
my name means strong.
 
    days come when I double over
 and cry.
     days come when I 
  stare, hopeless, at the dawn.
     days come when other arms
         carry me home.
my name means strong.
 
    it does not change, for it is
      watered by a deep well and
   grown from the stuff of
        mustard seeds.
my name means strong.
 
     failure cannot shake it,
  losses cannot take it,
     burdens cannot break it.
my name means strong,
     and I am 
                      Briana, Strong.

 
 
Creative Commons License
My Name Means Strong by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chucknotw
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 14:03:24

    Wow!!! The Lord bless you!

    Reply

  2. Duncan
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 09:35:40

    I really like the concept behind this poem. It’s a very cool idea. I also love the poem itself; excellent work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

