Why I Write

Hello everyone,
 
I wrote this poem by request for a theme at church one week about the creative gifts of the congregation. I was asked to think about why I write poetry, and here is one answer.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“Why I write”
 
I write to 
      catch holy moments from the air
  like blowing seeds on the wind,
           to plant them on paper
                 and watch ink spread in spring leaves
                          every passersby can see.
 
I write to connect
        other wondering, doubting,
               aching people who are
                       waiting across a 
                          divide of silence,
                          unsure what to say
                                  anymore,
  to a truth and a love
       that lifts spirits with a healing song. 
 
I write to ask,
       to learn,
  to pray,
     and to seek
the Great and Holy Word 
        and leave a bookmark behind
so someone might read about
           who freed my heart.
 
Letters form my path
   forward, marking milestones,
mourning losses.
 
I write to 
    ask questions from my depths
to write out my doubts,
    face them.
 
I write to talk
    to God:
       a paper dialog where the Word
     meets the beginning words of a
            child learning. 
 
Into a canopy I can sit beneath
     and pray
I write to speak when my tongue fails me
      I write to ask questions,
           I write to sing simple silent joys.
I write to celebrate, mourn, 
      wonder, doubt, and grow.
I write to explore
      the Word so vast and intricate
that even a brush with its truth
        loosens fountains of letters
    from me.  
 
I write because we were born
        from the Word 
             and the Word is still speaking.

 
 
 
Creative Commons License
Why I Write by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 11:13:12

    Beautiful. I really like this one.

    Reply

  2. Marisa
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 11:55:45

    I agree with Duncan. This one is by far one of my favorites of yours. I love the connection between writing and God as a way to connect with Him, to Him to and others through words. I also like how you use writing as a different tool: to pray, to think, to face doubts, to thank, and to talk. Just beautiful.

    Reply

  3. Marisa
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 11:56:20

    Reblogged this on A Way With Words and commented:
    A beautiful poem from one of my best friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

