The Fisherman

Hello everyone,
 
This poem is about the calling of the disciples. I focused on the story of Peter, found in the Gospel of Luke. Peter and his fellow fishermen hadn’t caught any fish all day, but when they listened to Jesus’ instructions, they suddenly had a huge catch. The miracle made Peter realize who Jesus was. I explored Peter’s internal reaction to the miracle and the call to follow Jesus.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 

“The Fisherman”
By Morgan Prettyman
Luke 5:1-11
 
at the word of a stranger
    I sail to the deep water
      that has done nothing for me all night
  but disappoint.
        my fine fishing nets hang empty, arms drag
     exhausted, shoulders sag.
 there is nothing here.  I will prove it
    to him. 
 
I do as he says and 
    cast the nets again.
but as I throw them over the side
   my heart
        plunges in shock at the weight
   of the unexpected catch,
      the unexpected understanding. 
I am in the net, flapping in and out
     of the water in surprise
         at my first breath of real air,
dying to my old world and
      rising up to the new.
hauling in the shaking nets,
   I turn to the stranger on my boat
and see the Fisherman 
     smiling at his catch.

 
 
 
Creative Commons License
The Fisherman by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 10:51:06

    I really like this one. I particularly like the analogy of Peter with the fish he’s catching.

    Reply

  2. brianabatty
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 10:54:06

    It was a challenging poem to write, to try to find a different angle on a very familiar story for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

