Over bridges broken

Hello everyone,
 
This is an old poem I wrote from six years ago that I thought would be good to share again. When the weeks and days drag us down, God’s steadfast love pulls us back up and pushes us forward.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 
“Over Bridges Broken”
 
Over bridges broken,
through valleys dark,
at the very end
and back at the start,
I am with you forever,
brave little heart.
 
A light in the shadows,
a guide up ahead,
a knock on the door,
a story you read:
I’m speaking in whispers,
I’m with you in words.
 
This body was broken,
this blood it was shed.
These eyes, they have cried.
These hands, they have bled.
 
I didn’t do it for nothing;
I was sent from above
so I could die for you,
dear heart that I love.
 
You stumble, you falter,
you waver and fall.
You wonder at midnight,
through darkness you crawl.
But I’m reaching out always,
I’m standing right here.
 
When you’re ready to see me,
when you’re ready to learn,
when you open your heart
and from shadow you turn,
I’m still here waiting
after all this time
ready to claim
the one that is mine.
 
The secret to sunlight,
the joy in the dawn
is that no matter the journey,
I always hang on.
 
So don’t think you’re worthless,
so don’t think you’re lost.
I’ll never let go,
no matter the cost.
 
 
 
Creative Commons License
Over bridges broken by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 08:05:24

    Awesome. I love the rhyme. Makes everything better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

