Star Journey

Hi everyone,
 
I’m a little late posting this, but this poem reflects on the story of Epiphany (January 6), when we celebrate the arrival of the Magi. According to the Gospel of Matthew (Matthew 2:1-18), the Magi traveled almost 2 years to meet Jesus, led by nothing but a guiding star. These Magi, or “wise men,” showed dedication through what must have been a difficult and faith-challenging journey. It takes a lot of courage to follow a star in the sky to find a newborn King, but they made it there.
 
When he was older, Jesus told his disciples, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you” (Matthew 7:7). This promise is so important to us whenever we struggle to find faith, especially in difficult days of grief, rejection, depression, and doubt. In times like these, think of the Magi. It was a long way through the desert, but they followed the guiding star to the newborn King Jesus. May we, too, keep seeking as they did.
 
God bless,
Morgan
 
“Star Journey”
 
even if there is a star
marking where you are,
my pathway still lies through
flat dry waste and
mountainous dunes of
gritty pale rock and dust.
 
even though that star
never falters, never wavers,
never hides, my pathway still
stretches over years, and
my precious hope all but runs
dry.
 
even though that star
convinced me to leave everything
behind, my pathway still
splinters my resolve every
heavy step I take.
 
even though this star
comforts me at night, the desert’s
scorching day burns through my
ease of mind and sheds light on a
myriad questions.
 
nevertheless, I do not stop—
not for doubts, not for questions,
not for throbbing feet—
because even though this star
is taking me on the hardest
journey of my life,
I believe this star
marks the end of my desert road: that
precious place where
a Child of hope and redemption
beckons me to come.
 
 
Creative Commons License
Star Journey by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 09:12:47

    Very nice! I like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

