Blessings

Hi everyone,
 
This poem was inspired by a book we’re reading in my Bible Study, called 11 indispensable relationships you can’t be without by Leonard Sweet. It is about friendships and relationships we need for our lives and spiritual growth. In our discussions at Bible Study, I have been reminded again how God has put truly incredible people in my life. This poem is for my friends – you are a blessing.
 
God bless!
–Morgan
 

“Blessings”
 
I am blessed with people
    in my life who day by day,
        moment by moment,
   have become brothers 
              and sisters to me.
They listen to me, they laugh 
        with me, and most importantly
   they cry with me and then
       stay by me on the journey.
they are the rocks in my life:
   I can’t remember times without 
 them learning, living, and growing
    by my side.
they taught me to love
   with a bigger heart
 than I knew I had
     and saw who I was at times
   when I couldn’t see myself.
 
Countless hours we have
    sat and talked, hoped,
         and prayed,
    building each other 
         higher. 
we can sit around a table and say
      what scares us, and know
   someone is there to face it with us.
we share the wisdom we’ve picked up
   on our ways and bring each other
       back down to earth
    when we go too far.
 
I stand amazed by the bonds
   we hold together over distance and time
           and change. 
We love the soul inside its cocoon,
     and share our visions to see it fly free.

 
 
Creative Commons License
Blessings by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 11:06:25

    Very nice!

    Reply

  2. Marisa
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 11:49:15

    Love this one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

