Walk to the Table

Hi everyone,
 
Sorry it’s been so long. I have a new poem to share that reflects on Communion, the Holy Meal where Christians remember the night Jesus first shared the Bread and Cup with His disciples. Communion represents the grace Christ gave to all of us when He sacrificed Himself for us on the cross.
 
Eating this meal has many depths of meaning, but above all it’s a meal of faith. This poem is a reflection on how people at all ages and stages of their faith journeys come to receive Communion and the forgiveness and healing offered in it. It doesn’t matter how we get to the Table with the Bread and Cup—it might be with a walker or it might be carried by a parent—what matters is that we come ready to see all God has in store for us. This poem is what I learned from watching two different generations one Sunday morning.
 
Take some time and think about what you, too, can learn from watching different people around you and the examples of faith they show.
 
God bless!
–Morgan
 
 
“Walk to the Table”
 
footsteps across the old floor
of the sanctuary
engross me at this communion.
I watch the slow, practiced shuffle
of a man of many years and stories
pulling himself along on the backs
of chairs so he can walk
to this holy meal.
 
a minute later I see the opposite:
a tiny boy comes
carried in his father’s arms
to taste Christ’s grace.
his eyes are big, curious
just at the start of a journey.
 
I, too, walk in the line
to the bread and the cup.
I have been the little one led
by a parent,
and someday, I may be pulling
myself along on the backs of chairs
to get to the Table,
but I will come.
the determination I saw
in that church elder,
slow and steady,
shows me I will get there.
 
 
Creative Commons License
Walk to the Table by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 08:13:40

    Nice. I like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

