The end

Hi everyone,
 
When I was a young reader, I thought a story wasn’t over unless it literally said “the end” on the last page. Remembering this made me think of how we live on in Christ after our time here; there is no “the end” when we trust our lives to His grace. Like I always hoped as a child, there is another part to the story after that last page. Thinking on that, I composed this poem for those who are remembering lost loved ones. May you find comfort in our hope in Christ for new life and a chance for another, better tale.
 
God bless,
–Morgan
 

“The end”
 
no one said “the end”
      when the last page of your life was turned 
   and the cover was closed 
 
I want to think just as I did
      as a child 
   when I thought that if the story
         did not say “the end,”
   then it wasn’t really over yet
 
somewhere your story
       goes on in pages I cannot see from here
and I have a reader’s intuition
       that it is the best part yet

 
 
Creative Commons License
The end by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Duncan
    May 01, 2013 @ 09:59:17

    That was absolutely brilliant. I love how it was short and yet conveyed so much. I also thought the story behind it was really cute. 🙂

    Reply

    • brianabatty
      May 02, 2013 @ 10:04:48

      Thanks! I remember being at my elementary school library and putting a book back that ended with (I think) someone walking up a street or off to somewhere else, and I was puzzled why it didn’t say “the end.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

