Sitting

Hi everyone!
 
This poem was inspired by Max Lucado’s book Fearless and the story of Peter walking on water to meet Jesus (Matthew 14:22-34). Peter dares the stormy waters to go to Jesus, even though he becomes afraid and nearly sinks. I think one of the first steps to facing fear is to try – to step out and reach for Jesus to get you through your hardest times. If it becomes too much, He will catch you. Guaranteed.
 
God bless!
–Morgan
 
 
“Sitting”

fear sits, black tar in my stomach
restlessly oozing side-to-side
looking for a way to spread

i sit, chilled and hollow
sleepless, shaking, scared
looking for a way to trust

You sit, quiet and sure
courageous, strong, patient
waiting for me to trust

I ask, voice small as fine-ground seashells
what happens now? what happens?
holding my breath for the answer

You say, voice big as rolling pastures
have faith, dear one, have faith
holding out Your hand

I say, voice rattling like glass chimes
I am still afraid, God, I’m afraid
sitting on my hands

You say, voice calm as snowy mornings
Reach out, step forward, try
holding out Your hand

I stare, like Peter on the stormy sea
caught, boat behind me, Christ before me
fighting tar-black waters

You smile, closing the distance
swift, simple, strong
catching my shaking hand

Now we sit, chilly on the shoreline
resting, calm, peaceful
watching the storm blow out
 
 
Creative Commons License
Sitting by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Georgia Visitor
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 08:01:46

    Beautiful as always.
    The ‘Have faith’ line got me thinking about Aslan.
    God bless ya, Kiwi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

