If I had walked the dusty roads

Hi everyone,
 
The Sunday School class I’m in recently finished reading an engaging and thought-provoking novel called Eli, by Bill Myers. This book is about a man who finds himself in a parallel world where Jesus came in the 1990s instead of two thousand years ago. The modern context raises a lot of interesting issues and forces readers to realize all over again how radical and amazing Jesus truly is.
 
In light of reading this great book, I’m putting up a poem I wrote last year. In it, I reflect on whether I would have had the kind of faith the first disciples had to recognize Jesus as the Messiah. I thought of this poem again thanks to the book, where the characters, like the first disciples, encounter Jesus (called “Eli” in this world) in person and have to decide if He really is the One they’ve been waiting for.
 
God bless!
–Morgan
 
“If I Had Walked the Dusty Roads”
 
If I’d walked the dusty roads with You,
would I have believed?
Would I have had the kind of faith
strong enough to see?
Would I have listened to Your words
and knew them true to be?
Would I have followed without fear
and trusted what You teach?
 
I wonder if I’d be strong enough
simple enough, like a child.
If I’d cling instead to the written laws
the rules, the books, the scribes.
I wonder if I’d be able to
leave it all behind,
to be a pioneer of faith
and still my doubting mind.
 
I marvel at Your first followers
with their stout hearts, changed and true.
I thank them for their bravery,
for listening to You.
For through their words and deeds,
I can know You today.
Your gospel carried across the world
through ages dark and gray,
so that tonight I can know
I am saved and free.
 
By Your grace I know this now,
by Your grace I’ll say
that no matter what time that I was born
I think I’d understand
that when I looked into Your eyes
I’d know I was in Your hands.
In that look, Your smile and laugh,
Your words, Your truth, Your grace,
I know no matter when I walked with You
I would find my place.
You move us in mysterious ways,
You speak right to our hearts.
Deep inside I know this truth:
You find us where we are.
So if I walked those dusty roads
of Israel long ago,
I’d give my heart and trust to You—
Just one look, and I’d know.
 
 
Creative Commons License
If I had walked the dusty roads by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marisa Deshaies
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 08:38:13

    Beautiful! I love this! The rhyming is perfect. 😀

    Reply

  2. Duncan
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 10:17:04

    Rhyming is always a good thing. I like it.

    Reply

  3. Georgia Visitor
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 10:37:48

    I wholeheartedly agree with Marisa!
    I’m definitely going to take a look at that book if I remember, next chance I get.
    God bless ya, cuz!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

