Lighthouse

Hello everyone,
 
On to post #2! This is a poem I’ve shared before. It is written for those who are feeling overwhelmed and hurting and in need of hope. May you know God is out there in the storms with you, always.
 
God bless!
–Morgan

“Lighthouse”

The one thing I don’t have
         right now
   is an answer.
The one thing I want more than anything,
         though,
    is relief.

I have tried to stay strong, to stay bright,
            but I’m the lighthouse
                                             far out in the water,
       bashed and battered 
  by cold storm winds,
         left lonely in the waves
                with no one to turn the lanterns 
        back on.
As my bold paint peels away
        I’m nothing but a white-flecked pole
                    lost in a hurricane. 

If you can see me flickering here,
         pray.
             Pray I’m brighter tomorrow,
                  pray my colors return,
                        pray I don’t fall headlong into
        the stormy dark bay.
And while you pray, I’ll fight
           I’ll stand,
                     I’ll try 
because there’s this Man who walks across
                  the waters to me, climbs
                          the rickety stairs
        in my heart, and promises that
He’s here to be my Light when I grow dark.
        He gives me hope I don’t have,
                strength I can’t find on my own.

Over the storm I see closing in around me
        wings of prayer, white like seagulls, brave like eagles
                                diving into the wind.
          I’m still surrounded by storms on my battered rocks,
                      oh yes,
           but always encircled with arms and wings and warm embraces,
                and lit from deep within with Light
                                                    brighter than mine.

See me out here?
          I shine in the storm,
      bright as new.

 
 

Creative Commons License
Lighthouse by Morgan Prettyman is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allen Prettyman
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 12:37:35

    Wonderful poem and Blog!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Heinsohn
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 14:44:12

    This is one of my favorites!

    Reply

  3. Hubert Prettyman
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 21:51:23

    “Lighthouse” is one of Poppop’s favorites.

    Reply

  4. brianabatty
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 20:29:15

    Great to hear from you all – thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

